Trim GAA

Founded 1904

Co. Meath

MATCH REPORT Hurling League Div 2, Rd 5 Trim 1-15; Kildalkey 3-16

Download our mobile app to hear more about Trim GAA.

See More
LMES Limited Intermediate Hurling League, Div 2, Round 5

Final Score: Trim 1-15; Kildalkey 3-16

A spirited second half comeback wasn’t quite enough to get Trim over the line in this recent Div 2 clash with arch rivals Kildalkey, at St Loman’s Park.

The visitors had raced into, what appeared to be, an unassailable lead by half time, thanks to their forwards accuracy in taking their scores when the opportunities arose. They led by 1-4 to 0-1 by the end of the first quarter, Trim’s lone score coming from George Douglas, and had a further five points on the bounce before the home side had registered their second score. This trend continued up to the half time whistle with the score indicating a fairly one-sided affair.

Half Time: Trim 0-04; Kildalkey 1-12

Trim made a number of positional switches during the break and there were indications that a comeback might be on the cards as they had early points from George Douglas and Conor Mc Keown and an opportunist goal from Neily Heffernan, following a mix up in the Kildalkey defence.

The visitors did, however, steady the ship and points were traded between the sides until a sweeping Kildalkey move ended with the green flag being raised once more. Trim did respond gallantly and had a number of goal chances which, alas, were not converted. The final quarter went the way of the home team 0-7 to 1-1 but it was the concession of that third goal that was the deciding factor. Trim never gave up and accounted for the final four scores, three from the free taking accuracy of George Douglas and a fourth from Darragh Heffernan, from a very narrow angle.

Full Time; Trim 1-15; Kildalkey 3-16

Trim: Eoin O’Reilly, Harry Cotterell, Gary Fleming , Colm McGrath, Cian Lee, Paddy Kennedy, Alan Costello (0-1), Danny Coleman, Mark Murray, Shane Downes, Darragh Heffernan (0-2), George Douglas, (0-8,7f), Conor McKeown (0-1), Josh Harris (0-2), Neil Heffernan, (1-1).

Subs : Josh Ayton, Cormac Doyle, Eamonn Yates, Conall Rogers, Darragh Kennedy, Cian Walsh

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play